Shepherds Bush Pavilion Unveiled

Architect:Frank Verity
Lighting Designers: Flanagan Lawrence architects
Location:伦敦,英国(London,England)
Year:2014.12

 

The Shepherds Bush Pavilion - a Grade II listed building dating from 1923 - was originally constructed as a cinema. It won the RIBA London Street Architecture Award for the best London fa?ade. Heavily damaged during World War II, the building was poorly repaired, subsequently converted to a Bingo Hall in 1983 and closed its doors for good in 2001, remaining disused for much of the next decade. In 2009 planning permission was granted for conversion into a four-star, 320-room hotel with conference facilities, café, restaurant, bar, retail spaces and a roof-top spa.

 

 

Drawing on the influence of Art Deco cinema design, the foyer and atrium spaces employ simple curved surfaces in alternating bands of black and gold. The internally illuminated spandrel panels also minimise sound reverberation. At ground floor level, dark- stained, ribbed timber panelling and heavy curtains serve a similar purpose.

 

 

The honey-coloured limestone floor is inlaid with brass, in two simple decorative elements. In the main reception, brass strips form a series of concentric circles at the centre of the space, which are reflected in a ceiling coffer above, while in the atrium, the bands define the circulation route from the reception through to the atrium bar. The primary fa?ades have been retained with modifications to bring natural light into the rooms behind. The building features a new glazed roof which follows the curved profile of the original, bringing daylight into the upper floors of the building.

 

 

Additional insulation to the brick facades, high performance glazing, solar shading, improved air permabilty and new energy-efficient plant all contribute to a significantly improved thermal performance.

 

 

Jason Flanagan, Project Director at Flanagan Lawrence, comments: “Our design has been informed by a detailed understanding of the building’s history and context. Our response complements and refines the original character of the building, protecting this important heritage asset, reactivating the streetscape and providing a new point of focal interest on Shepherds Bush Green.”

 

Copyright (c) 2006-2007 aaldlighting.org. All Rights Reserved.
Address: 3/F, North Gate, Guangzhou Opera House, No.1 Zhujiang West Road, Zhujiang New Town,Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China
Tel: 020 -38284608 38284609  Fax: 020-38284599  Zip Code: 510623  Email: info@aaldlighting.org

【赏析】黄铜曲面--牧羊人布什旅馆重新亮相

牧羊人布什旅馆,始建于1923年,是一座二级保护建筑,最初是一个电影院,曾获RIBA伦敦街道建筑奖的最佳外观设计奖。由于二战期间严重受损、维修不善,随后于1983年转变为游戏厅,并在2001年关门休业。直至2009年,该大楼被整改成一个四星级旅馆,包括会议室、咖啡厅、餐厅、酒吧、零售店以及一个屋顶水疗中心,总共320个房间。

 

 

大楼借鉴了Art Deco的设计风格。门厅和中庭采用黑色和金色线条,构成简单的曲面;用于内部照明的拱肩板也尽量减少声音的混响;而在负一层,暗染色的肋木镶板和厚重的窗帘起到类似的作用。

 

 

蜂蜜色的石灰石地板镶嵌着黄铜,该大楼只有这两个简单的装饰元素。在主接待室,黄铜带组成了一系列同心圆空间;而在中庭,设计师重新定义了酒吧和接待室之间的路线;主外墙都被保留了下来,让自然光能够到达房间的后面。该建筑采用全新的玻璃屋顶,并遵循原有的弧形轮廓,使日光进入大楼的顶部楼层。

 

 

大楼还增设了保温砖外墙、高性能玻璃、遮阳系统以及改善空气质量的高能效植物,均有助于提高散热性能。

 

 

项目总监Jason Flanagan表示:“我们在着手设计之前,对该建筑的历史背景进行了详细的了解。在扩充并细化建筑原有特色的基础上,保护了重要的文物资产,同时使得街道恢复了往日的繁华,并为‘绿色牧羊人布什’提供了新的关注焦点。”

 

Copyright (c) 2006-2007 aaldlighting.org. All Rights Reserved .
地址:广州市天河区珠江新城珠江西路1号广州大剧院北门3楼
电话:020-38284608 38284609 传真: 020-38284599 邮编:510623 邮箱: info@aaldlighting.org