[DIALOUGE]Jeffrey Miller:Lighting Design Is About People

Jeff Miller is an architectural lighting designer based in Seattle, USA. He is recognized as a leader in the international lighting industry, for his leading high profile high sustainability lighting projects worldwide. However, he believes that sustainability, environmental protection and energy conservation, etc., are just methods to serve people.

 

As he said, “The most important thing in lighting design is to pay attention to what people need. So it is not about making decoration for the building and it is not about energy efficiency and it is about people. If you satisfy people's need then everything else will just follow. ” Now, he has gone beyond the profession of lighting designer, and is taking the position as lighting design consultant, helping lighting designers and lighting design companies develop better with his in-depth understanding of lighting design industry.

 

What makes you choose lighting design and stick with it for so long?


I started in theater in New York city, I was a theater designer and I didn’t want to spent all my life on the theater life because it was not a very good way to go, so I learnt about architectural lighting and became a architectural lighting designer. Being an architectural lighting designer can affect people's life by doing good lighting for their buildings. By doing this you can make people more productive and comfortable.

 

 


What is your understanding of the profession as lighting designer?


The most important thing in lighting design is to pay attention to what people need. So it is not about making decoration for the building and it is not about energy efficiency and it is about people. If you satisfy people's need then everything else will just follow.


Sustainability is the design conception you advocate. What do you think should be followed in order to realize sustainable lighting design?


The first rule is to put the light only where you need it. Don't waste any light. Shut the lights off when you don't need it. Focusing on what is required, decoration is wonderful, but it can't be the only thing to do. So it is important to combine the decoration with the energy efficiency.

 

 

How do you control the quality of lighting design in a project?


You need to begin with the strong understanding about the intentions. Right in the beginning of the projects, we try to understand what are the promises, what are you going to do and how you going to do, we have responsibilities to each other.


All the enterprises are built on promises. Promises need to be kept.


To work as a team , you need to have a understanding person to person, company to company, My principal interest is how do we work together to make it better.


Enough person to person communication is very important. No email!

 

So, communication and cooperation are crucial to the result of a project. Is that what you mean?


The design process is not as difficult as the design management. Because design management have construction issues, issues of digital delivery , budget issues , people issues. So the coordination, integration and the collaboration is the hard part.

 

 

We learn that you have once been the president of IALD. During your term of office, what did you do impresses you most?

 

Right now IALD is working on a project to create a worldwide certification for lighting designers. So the project that IALD is working on, which is called CLD (certified lighting designer) , was something I began when I was a president, and has been going on now for 4 years. Once you pass the CLD , means you have met a very high standard.


There will be standards, rules and norms for lighting design in the future. We have to establish lighting as standard profession .lighting design will be absorbed by different organizations, because big companies and enterprises are now having their own lighting designers in house, independent lighting designers will be very hard, that's a very strong trend.

 


Could you please talk about your plan or idea about your future?


My interest now is not just in design but also helping lighting companies. I work as a consultant to lighting companies and help them understand the market and to value of the products, make their products useful. Because lots of companies out there want to do better but they just don't know what to do.


I already working on some projects with some Asian lighting companies, but I can't tell you what projects we are working on now. Because they told me not to. I am working as an consultant to the Asian lighting companies, reviewing and recommending the products, helping them to understand the market, to introduce themselves, and invite them into the American market.

 

Jeffrey Miller

 

 

Copyright (c) 2006-2007 aaldlighting.org. All Rights Reserved.
Address: Room 1107, R&F Center, No.10 Huaxia Road, Zhujiang New Town,Tianhe District, Guangzhou, China
Tel: 020-38284607/09  Zip Code: 510623  Email: info@aaldlighting.org

[对话]Jeffrey Miller:设计服务于人

Jeff Miller,是一名来自美国西雅图的建筑照明设计师。因他在可持续照明设计方面的卓越成就而成为国际照明设计领域最具影响力的设计师之一。然而,对他来说,“可持续照明、环保节能”等都只是服务于人的一种方法和手段。

 

正如他所言:“设计是服务于人,为人所用的,而非美化建筑、节能环保。当你满足了人的需求,一切则都迎刃而解。” 如今,他已越过“设计师”的身份,以“设计咨询顾问”的身份出现,用他30多年来对照明设计行业的深刻认识和理解帮助照明设计师、照明设计师公司更好地成长。

 

请问是什么让您选择照明设计,并坚持这么长时间?


我一开始是在纽约做舞美灯光设计,但后来突然间想要走出“舞台”,过另一种不同的生活。后来转做建筑照明设计,并成为了建筑照明设计师。好的建筑照明可以使人们的生活更舒适、工作更有效率,这也是为什么我一直坚持着做建筑照明设计师的原因。

 

 


您对照明设计这个职业的认识是怎样的?


作为一名照明设计师,最重要的是关注人们的需求,满足人们的需求。因为设计是服务于人,为人所用的,而非美化建筑、节能环保。当你满足了人的需求,一切则都迎刃而解。

 


可持续照明设计是您所推崇的设计理念,您认为在可持续照明设计方面应该遵循哪些准则?


可持续发展设计中最重要的是不要浪费,把“光”用在需要它的地方,把不需要的“光”去掉。我们要重点关注了解什么是必须的光。灯光能把建筑装点得更美丽,但我们不能为了装饰而装饰。很重要的是要将美与节能相融合相结合。

 

 

如何把控照明项目的设计质量的呢?


首先,你必须要充分理解项目的目的和意义。在项目开始之前,我们就会去弄清楚项目的目的是什么、我们需要做的是什么、我们应该怎样做以及我们要对谁负责等问题。

 

第二,公司是建立于诚信的基础之上的,我们必须遵守项目合约中的各项条款责任,遵守承诺。

 

第三,以团队的方式合作,你不仅需要人与人之间的理解,更需要(参与到项目中的各个)公司间的理解和合作。我的主要工作则是提高团队协作的效率,使工作得以更好地开展。

 

最后,要面对面充分地沟通。尽量避免用邮件沟通。(面对面的会议才更能直接明了表达自己观点。)

 

所以说,“沟通”与“合作”对项目的最终实现情况的影响至关重要,对吗?


实际上,一个项目最大的挑战并在于设计这一部分,而是设计管理,因为其中涉及了结构组织、信息沟通、预算和人际合作等问题。

 

 

您曾担任IALD协会的主席,在任期间,您做过的印象最深的事情是?


IALD如今正在做的一件事是全球范围内的照明设计师的资格认证(CLD),这个项目从我在任时开始的,如今这个项目已经开展4年了。通过CLD认证,也就是意味着您具有作为一名照明设计师的资格和能力。我们希望通过设立一定的进入门槛,使使照明设计这个行业更规范。

 

未来照明设计必须要有明确的标准、规范和要求,我们必须使这个职业规范化。并且许多大的(建筑设计)集团内部也都设立照明部门,有他们的照明设计师。这将会是独立照明设计师的威胁和挑战。

 


谈谈您未来的一些计划和想法。


现在,我的兴趣不单在设计上,更在帮助其他照明设计公司成长上。如今我是很多照明设计公司的咨询顾问,我帮助他们理解市场需求、正确评估作品价值、提高作品实用性。现在的很多公司都想提升自我,但又不知从何下手。

 

我已经和一些亚洲的设计公司就某些项目开展了合作,可是具体哪个项目暂时还不能公开。我的主要工作是就他们的设计作品进行评估和建议,帮助他们更好地理解市场需求,并且帮助他们融入美国市场。

 

 

 

Jeffrey Miller

 

 

Copyright (c) 2006-2007 aaldlighting.org. All Rights Reserved .
地址:广州市天河区珠江新城华夏路10号富力中心1107
电话:020-38284607/38284609 邮编:510623 邮箱: info@aaldlighting.org
备案号:粤ICP备12006006号